SYS-CON MEDIA Authors: Lori MacVittie, Gilad Parann-Nissany, Unitiv Blog, Bob Gourley, Kevin Benedict

News Feed Item

Ricardo Salinas Pliego Inaugurates Esperanza Azteca Kol Shalom Youth Orchestra in Mexico City

MEXICO CITY, Nov. 26, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Fundacion Azteca, the non-profit arm of Grupo Salinas welcomes the latest member of its Esperanza Azteca youth orchestra system, the Esperanza Azteca Kol Shalom Orchestra, located in Mexico City. The Kol Shalom orchestra gave its inaugural concert today at the Ollin Yoliztli auditorium.

Kol Shalom, which means "voice of peace" in Hebrew, is the first Esperanza Azteca orchestra that is completely funded with its own endowment.

Ricardo Salinas Pliego congratulated the young musicians and their parents, noting that music is a unique tool to create ties between youth and their families, adding that it is also key in boosting self-esteem and confidence. The event also commemorated the 100 year anniversary of the official establishment of the Jewish community in Mexico.

The concert included in attendance Rafael Zaga, president of the Central Committee of the Jewish Community in Mexico; Esteban Moctezuma Barragan, Executive President of Fundacion Azteca de Grupo Salinas; as well as Perla and Carlos Jinich, members of the Kol Shalom board of trustees.

The Kol Shalom orchestra is directed by Maestro Luis Manuel Sanchez with the support of Artistic Coordinator Lorena Gonzalez Giovanetti.

The orchestra performed to standing ovations a program that included pieces by Orff, Telemann and Saint-Saens.

The Esperanza Azteca youth orchestras are part of a social action program spearheaded by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas Pliego to encourage excellence and self-esteem in youth through music.

The system includes over 50 youth orchestras throughout Mexico, with over 12,000 participants.

About Grupo Salinas
Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (ww.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

About Fundacion Azteca
Fundacion Azteca is the Grupo Salinas organization that promotes corporate social responsibility both within the group as well as throughout Mexican society as a whole, by linking social needs with organizations and people willing to commit themselves socially and ecologically in the creation of solutions. The foundation also operates in Peru and Guatemala, as well as in United States through Fundacion Azteca America. For more information visit our web page at: www.fundacionazteca.org.

International Press Contact: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; [email protected]

SOURCE Grupo Salinas; Fundacion Azteca; Esperanza Azteca Youth Orchestra

More Stories By PR Newswire

Copyright © 2007 PR Newswire. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PRNewswire content is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of PRNewswire. PRNewswire shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.