|By PR Newswire||
|June 7, 2013 01:35 PM EDT||
JARNAC, France, June 7, 2013 /PRNewswire/ --
Courvoisier announces the refurbishment of its Heritage Centre in Jarnac, South West France. The new look features an enhanced boutique (with rare and exclusive products), tasting bar, a display of vintage advertising and a historical timeline.
The stunning new look includes the full Courvoisier portfolio and enhances visitors' understanding and appreciation of the award-winning blends, as well as revealing the brand's proud French heritage. Courvoisier Château is expected to be a key destination for connoisseurs visiting the Cognac region in 2013. http://courvoisier.com/uk/visit/introduction/
During selected tours, access is granted to the famous Paradis cellar which houses cognac dating back to the time of Napoleon himself, and visits to the cooperage where the ageing barrels are hand-made to exacting standards. Visits last from one to seven hours and are available with English and French narration.
A visit to Courvoisier Château combines a museum tour with a sensorial cinema experience "Le Nez de Courvoisier" and Alchimie de Courvoisier paper diorama, followed by tastings. Select, short run, seasonal "Gourmet" tours include an exploration of the foods which compliment Courvoisier, including meeting a Trufficulteur, followed by a "menu truffles" served inside the Château.
The Courvoisier Château is situated on the banks of the river Charente in Jarnac (southwest corner of France) in the Cognac region. It's approximately 475 km from Paris, 114km from Bordeaux, 30km from Angoulême and 15km from Cognac.
Open Tuesday-Saturday from 16th April-13th October, Mondays in June & September, Sundays in July & August. Reservations are available via the website.
Notes for editors
The origin of Courvoisier history goes back to the beginning of the 19th century with Emmanuel Courvoisier and his associate, Louis Gallois, running a wine and spirit merchant company, in the Parisian suburb of Bercy. In 1811, Napoleon visited the warehouses in Bercy and legend has it that he later took several barrels of cognac with him to St Helena. This was a much appreciated treat for the English officers on the ship, who named it "The Cognac of Napoleon".
Felix Courvoisier and Jules Gallois, the sons of Emmanuel and Louis respectively, had an intuitive understanding that their customers were after an ever-greater quality spirit. With that in mind, they decided to take a bold change of direction for their business. They wanted more control over the quality of the product they had built their reputation on, so in 1928 moved their headquarters from Paris to the town of Jarnac, in the heart of the Cognac region. It remains the home of Courvoisier to this day.
Courvoisier Château is located at:
Courvoisier S.A, 2 place du Château,
16200 Jarnac, France