SYS-CON MEDIA Authors: RealWire News Distribution, Cynthia Dunlop, Mark O'Neill, Kevin Benedict

News Feed Item

Bombardier and London Underground execute Joint Release Agreement

BERLIN, GERMANY -- (Marketwired) -- 12/31/13 -- Bombardier Transportation and London Underground (LU) today announced that the signalling contract for the Circle, District, Hammersmith & City and Metropolitan lines (Sub Surface lines) will be re-let by LU following discussions between the two companies.

Bombardier was awarded a contract in June 2011 following a competitive tender process, and has already undertaken a great deal of preparatory works.

The new contract will see signalling modernised on 40 per cent of the Underground network, allowing LU to run more trains, more often and more reliably. Combined with 191 S-Stock trains, which Bombardier has successfully supplied for the Metropolitan line and which are now being introduced on the Hammersmith & City and Circle lines, the upgrade will increase capacity on the Sub-Surface lines - the Circle and Hammersmith & City lines by 65 per cent, the District line by 24 per cent and the Metropolitan line by 27 per cent.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montreal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2012, we posted revenues of $16.8 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION


Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France, Benelux and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Par Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa and Middle East: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com

UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk

USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contacts:
Bombardier Transportation
www.theclimateisrightfortrains.com

More Stories By Marketwired .

Copyright © 2009 Marketwired. All rights reserved. All the news releases provided by Marketwired are copyrighted. Any forms of copying other than an individual user's personal reference without express written permission is prohibited. Further distribution of these materials is strictly forbidden, including but not limited to, posting, emailing, faxing, archiving in a public database, redistributing via a computer network or in a printed form.