SYS-CON MEDIA Authors: Yeshim Deniz, Doug Masi, Mat Mathews, Newswire, David Smith

News Feed Item

E Ink Holdings Elects New Board and Names Dr. Frank Ko Chairman & CEO, Johnson Lee President

E Ink® Holdings, "E Ink" (8069.TW), an ePaper product and technology visionary today announced the results of its annual shareholders meeting on June 18, 2014. Shareholders approved the financial results for 2013 and elected the board nominated slate of Board of Directors to a three year term. In accordance with the corporate governance regulations of the Financial Supervisory Commission (FSC) the supervisors were replaced by the Audit Committee. In addition to electing six directors the board was strengthened by electing three independent directors. The new independent directors are Dr. JT Wen, professor at National Chengchi University; Dr. Biing-Seng Wu, chairman of Himax Corporation; and Mr. Ten-Chung Chen, former general manager of Advantech America. To further strengthen governance, the independent directors form the Audit Committee and the Compensation Committee, both chaired by Mr. Chen.

The new board also elected Dr. Frank Ko as the Chairman and CEO of E Ink. Dr. Ko joined E Ink in December as the Chief Strategy Officer. As Chief Strategy Officer, Dr. Ko led with a strong vision to expand E Ink’s business and extend the application of E Ink technologies. He brings extensive knowledge and expertise in developing new markets and leading technology development from years of display industry experience. E Ink looks forward to Dr. Ko’s leadership of the executive team in taking on new challenges and developing innovative products for the future.

"I am honored to serve as Chairman and CEO of E Ink Holdings, a company that created and led the ePaper industry for many years with a strong global IP portfolio, innovative products and an incredible team,” said Dr. Ko. “I look forward to working with our team to leverage our cutting-edge ePaper technologies and innovations into new products and applications."

The board also named Mr. Johnson Lee as President of E Ink Holdings, replacing Dr. CC Tsai who has temporarily returned to the National Chiao Tung University. Mr. Lee was the former head of business development for E Ink. In his new position he will be responsible for leading E Ink’s four major business units and developing new application markets.

The new board also reaffirmed the position of Mr. Eddie Chen and Mr. CH Chiu as E Ink’s CFO and COO, respectively. Exiting Interim Chairman Mr. Felix Ho, who is also elected as a director of the E Ink board today, and has been recently appointed as CEO of parent YFY Inc., will continue to serve as Chairman of E Ink Corporation, the US subsidiary of E Ink Holdings.

About E Ink Holdings

Founded in 1992 by Taiwan's leading papermaking and printing group YFY (1907.TW), E Ink Holdings Inc. (8069.TW) is the pioneer of TFT and ePaper business in Taiwan. Its corporate philosophy aims to deliver revolutionary products, user experiences, and environmental benefits through advanced technology development. This vision has led to its continuous investments in the field of ePaper display as well as its 2008 acquisition of Hydis Technologies, manufacturer of the world's best wide viewing angle LCDs, and its 2009 acquisition of E Ink Corporation, the worldwide leader in ePaper. Listed in Taiwan's GreTai Securities Market and the Luxembourg market, E Ink Holdings is now the world's largest supplier of displays to the eReader market. For corporate information, please visit ; for EPD information, please visit /; and for FFS information, please visit

More Stories By Business Wire

Copyright © 2009 Business Wire. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Business Wire content is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Business Wire. Business Wire shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.